Clocking Out

This one is going to be short and sweet. Being real doesn’t always have to be eloquent and elongated…. right? I do this thing….I don’t like this about myself, but I hear a story that someone tells and I think, “oh, that’s too bad that you struggle with that, but it wouldn’t be a problem for me.” Take for example, my very best friend’s struggle with being able to shut off from work when she had a home office. I remember thinking, “just set some boundaries!” It doesn’t help that this best friend of mine blows EVERY single project that she is part of out of the water, but she just seemed to be working all of the time. Fast forward five years and cue my melt down with my oldest sister about how I feel like I can’t shut down and feel like I am working all of the time. I have a home office now…… “set boundaries,” I said. I would like to punch myself in the face on behalf of my best friend at this moment. How do we separate what we DO from who we ARE? I want to be great at what I do, but I also want to be great at every other piece of who I am. I want to be a great wife, a great daughter, a great sister and friend, a healthy me and a happy me. Suggestions are welcomed, but “set boundaries” has already been done….so please don’t;) Been there, tried that. I’m looking for something a bit more specific. For those struggling with the same issue, my sister suggested actually tracking my hours and punching in and out to let myself actually be done after eight or nine hours (on a good day;). I have started doing this and allowing myself to “clock out” at the end of my shift and shut my computer in my office. On really rough days I like to imagine “do not cross” tape covering my office door. This way, the rest of my day can be spent on my other full time job of trying to be a better me 😉 Two steps forward…..three steps back, but at least there is forward movement!

Leave a Reply

